Hardware Association of South Australia Awards

Hardware Association of South Australia Awards

Held at the Adelaide Convention Centre, the recent HASA Awards evening provided opportunity to recognise excellence within the industry and reward those who have shown outstanding business skills and dedication. The evening was introduced by Bruce Abernethy and raised over $5000 in charitable donations for the Make a Wish Foundation.

Store Person of the Year, as voted by supplier representatives


Fiona Rosalia, Bob’s Home Hardware & Timber, Whyalla Norrie; Carol Walker, Barrow & Bench Mitre 10, Malvern; and William Witt, Home Timber & Hardware Kadina.

The overall winner, Fiona, has extensive knowledge of hardware from power tools, general garden through to paint mixing and is highly respected by all suppliers. Carol has only been with Barrow & Bench for just over a year but has worked in hardware for around 16 years. Her industry knowledge is excellent and she currently undertaking HASA’s Managing for Retail Success programme.

William has worked in hardware from a very young age in both trade and retail and has undergone internal training in power tools, key fitting and ongoing paint training. The Store Person of the Year Award was presented by Gold Sponsor Peter Stewart of the Bunnings Group. The Supplier Representative of the Year Award was voted on by retailers, a process that also culminated in three finalists being identified: Tammy Cope, Cyclone Industries; Nigel Pridmore, Robert Bosch and Phil Williams, Wattyl Australia.

This award was presented to Phil Williams by Gold Sponsor Vito Nocera of Mitre 10 Australia. Supplier of the Year was also voted on by retailers. The three finalists were: Dulux Australia, ITW Proline and Wattyl Australia. The award was presented by Gold Sponsor Rob Zampa of Stratco, and Dulux Australia was announced overall winner.

The remainder of the awards were presented by Major Sponsor Basil Micale of BDS. The finalists and winners were as follows:


  • Store of the Year Category A – under 1000 m² Finalists: Cowell Thrifty-Link, Keith Mitre 10, Stratco Murray Bridge.Winner: Cowell Thrifty-Link.
  • Store of the Year Category B – 1000 m² to 2500 m² Finalists: Barrow & Bench Mire 10 Glenunga, Home Timber & Hardwae Pt Lincoln, McLaren Vale Mitre 10.Winner: McLaren Vale Mitre 10.
  • Store of the Year Category C – over 2500 m² Finalists: Better Homes Supplies Mitre 10 Home & Trade, Mount Barker Mitre 10 Home & Trade, Stratco Big Shed, Gepps Cross.Winner: Mount Barker Mitre 10 Home & Trade.
  • South Australia Store of the Year Winner: Mount Barker Mitre 10 Home & Trade.