Queensland Hardware Industry celebrates excellence and service with flare












On the 22nd of July, Hardware Australia hosted the Queensland Hardware Industry Awards at The Tivoli in Brisbane, with a special flare and theme of Christmas in July.

Over 160 guests enjoyed a fantastic night of celebrations, christmas bonbons, awards, entertainment, great food, presents and industry fellowship. The night included the announcments of Hardware Store’s of the Year together with Employee of the Year, Industry Rising Star, the Suppliers of the Year, the Very Special Legends and 30+ Years Service Awards.

The winners announced on the night were:
Employee of the Year – Carla Walker, Mullins Hardware
Industry Rising Star – Luke Camlin, Jeays Hardware Mitre 10

Hardware Store of the Year under 2500sqm
Winner: Keating Bros Home Building Supplies

Loganholme Mitre 10
Karalee Hardware HBT
Keating Bros Home Building Supplies
Kevs Fastening Supplies

Hardware Store of the Year over 2500sqm
Winner: Plainlands Hardware & Rural Centre</strong>

Plainlands Hardware & Rural Centre
Sunshine Mitre 10 – Kingaroy
Bretts Home Hardware
Trade Store of the Year
Winner: Kev’s Fastening Supplies

A Wood Shed
Sunshine Mitre 10 Trade Centre Kawana
Mackenzies Home Timber & Hardware
Doyles Home Timber & Hardware
Kevs Fastening Supplies

Garden Department of the Year
Winner: Plainlands Hardware & Rural Centre

The Range Hardware & Hire
Plainlands Hardware & Rural Centre
Pittsworth Hardware

Supplier Category Awards
Supplier of the Year – Building Supplies – Recochem Inc
Supplier of the Year – Garden & Outdoor – Yates
Supplier of the Year – Hardware – Mayo Hardware
Supplier of the Year – Paint – PPG
Supplier of the Year – Tools – Makita
Supplier of the Year – Timber – Simmonds Group

One of the most hotly contested categories in the awards each year, is the Sales Rep of the Year and Industry Legend.
2017 crowned Derek O’Sullivan from Taskmasters as ‘Rep of the Year’.
Congratulations to Derek and all the finalists. Reps are nominated by store owners and managers based on their performance and dedication over the past 12 months.

Finalists in the Sales Rep of the Year were;
Peter Mahon – Mayo Hardware
Kerry Tienan – Valspar
Cameron Watt – PPG
Deane Hudson – Valspar
Steve McKeon – Bremick Fasteners
Jeff Hannam – Zenexus
Tony Russell – Fix-a-tap
Michelle Hinder – Brasshards
Peter Fairfull – PPG
Kim Compton – Valspar

The night also saw the special awarding of the 30+ Years Service Awards with recipients this year being;
David Woodman – Woodmans Mega Mitre 10 Beenleigh
Vice Tebb – Home Timber & Hardware Group
Kevyn Lamb – Kev’s Fastening Supplies – Rockhampton

The major awards of the night saw two industry legends honored;
Kerry Woodman – Woodmans Mitre 10
Bill Nutting – Brett’s Home Hardware

This years event was a great success and a night to remember for all who attended. A special thank you to the sponsoring companies of the event for their continued support of the independent hardware industry.